The draw for the group stage of Oceania’s premier club competition, the 2014 OFC Champions League, has been confirmed.

The tournament has undergone a change of format for the 2014 edition with a group stage format introduced that will see 12 of the Pacific’s finest teams from eight OFC nations fight it out for a place in the home and away semi-finals scheduled for April 26/27 and May 3/4.

The group stage format will be hosted in Ba, Lautoka and Nadi, in Fiji, from 7 – 15 April, 2014.

The 12 teams are split into three groups with Group A containing Waitakere United, Kiwi FC, the as yet to be determined club champions of the Solomon Islands and Tahiti’s AS Pirae.

Group B matches another Tahitian club, AS Dragon, in a pool alongside Amicale of Vanuatu, defending champions Auckland City FC and one of the two host clubs Nadi.

In Group C, Ba entertain Tafea of Vanuatu, AS Magenta of New Caledonia and one-time OFC Champions League winners, Hekari United of Papua New Guinea.

The group winners advance to the semi-finals joined by the group runner-up with the best record.

The OFC Champions League final is scheduled for 10/11 May, 2014, at a venue yet to be determined.

The winner of the OFC Champions League represents the OFC at the FIFA Club World Cup Morocco.

As a service to our readers, World Football INSIDER
provides verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by football-related
organizations, businesses and sponsors.

Your complete source of news about the
global football business is


Get Free WFI news bulletins Click Here

Leave a Reply