(WFI) Lionel Messi and Jose Mourinho are among the big winners in FIFA’s end-of-year awards.

Lionel Messi and Marta were FIFA’s 2010 players of the year. (Getty Images)

The Argentine forward beat Barcelona teammates Andres Iniesta and Xavi for the inaugural FIFA Ballon d’Or.

This was Messi’s second consecutive World Player of the Year award but first since FIFA merged the award with France Football’s historic Ballon d’Or, given annually to the top European footballer.
Messi led Barca to the Spanish league title and earned almost one-fourth of the vote.
Brazilian forward Marta captured her fifth consecutive FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year. She won both the Golden Boot and league MVP en route to a Women’s Professional Soccer title with FC Gold Pride.

Real Madrid boss José Mourinho and Silvia Neid of Germany’s national team were the men’s and women’s coaches of the year.

Mourinho managed Inter Milan to the UEFA Champions League, Italian Serie A and Italian cup before leaving for Real Madrid in the summer.
Neid coaches current women’s world champions Germany.

The honors were decided by a poll of national team captains and head coaches, then presented Monday night in Zurich at an awards gala attended by football’s biggest stars.

Journalists selected by France Football also joined in the voting, meaning the captains, coaches and media each
accounted for one-third of the final result.

Sepp Blatter presented the FIFA Presidential Award to Archbishop Desmond Tutu. (Getty Images)

Players also got a say in Monday’s awards. The FIFA/FIFPro World XI is a dream team chosen by more than 50,000 pros worldwide and meant to honor 2010’s 11 best players.

The squad consists of Iker Casillas (Spain) in goal; Maicon (Brazil), Lúcio (Brazil), Gerard Piqué (Spain) and Carles Puyol (Spain) on defense; Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain) and Andrés Iniesta (Spain) at midfield; and Lionel Messi (Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) and David Villa (Spain) up front.

Also Monday, Turkey’s Hamit Altintop received the FIFA Puskás Award for most beautiful goal of the year, Haiti U-17 women’s team the FIFA Fair Play Award and Archbishop Desmond Tutu the FIFA Presidential Award for his commitment to youth development and social change.

By INSIDER’s Matthew Grayson

Your best source of news about the global football business is World Football INSIDER

Get Free WFI news bulletins Click Here

Leave a Reply