(WFI) The United States, Mexico, and Canada will host the 2026 World Cup.

The United bid collected 134 votes to Morocco’s 65 in a simple majority at the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow.

North America has not held a World Cup since the United States hosted in 1994. This will be Mexico’s third time hosting and the first for Canada. South Africa is the only African country to be awarded a World Cup.

Morocco’s bid scored just 2.7 out of 5 from FIFA and was graded lower than the United bid in every category but one.

Of the 80 games scheduled for the tournament, 60 will be played in the United States, with 10 each in the other host countries. Every game in the quarterfinals through the remainder of the tournament will be in the US.

More to come.

Homepage photo: United 2026

By INSIDER Jeffrey Farek

Your best source of news about the global football business is World Football INSIDER

Get Free WFI news bulletins Click Here

Leave a Reply