Econet Media Acquires Premier League Broadcasting Rights in Sub Saharan Africa

Bookmark and Share
The Premier League is pleased to announce that Econet Media has acquired the package of free-to-air broadcasting rights that it makes available in Sub Saharan Africa.

The agreement is for the three seasons 2016/17 – 2018/19 and will see Econet, through its Kwesé Sports platform, make available one Saturday afternoon Premier League match live on a free-to-air basis each weekend of the season.

The matches, along with weekly preview and review shows, will be available in 50 countries across the region.

Premier League Executive Chairman, Richard Scudamore, said: “We are very pleased that Econet Media has chosen to invest in the package of free-to-air broadcasting rights that we have made available in Sub-Saharan Africa.

“These rights will see Econet’s new Kwesé Sports platform make available one free-to-air match live every Saturday, as well as a weekly preview and highlights programme, for fans in 50 countries across the region.

“Premier League clubs enjoy passionate support across Sub-Saharan Africa and these rights are important to ensuring that as many fans as possible can follow and enjoy our competition.”

Econet Media CEO Joseph Hundah said: “England’s Premier League is a globally prestigious sporting competition, one that is deeply loved by millions of African sports fans. As such we are very committed to obtaining these rights and have invested significantly to acquire them.

“We want to make this League available to fans across sub-Saharan Africa and so, through Kwesé Sports FTA partners and other platforms, we hope to widen access to this property.”

• The 50 countries included in the Premier League’s package of free-to-air rights for Sub Saharan Africa are:

South Africa, Nigeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros Islands, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, St Helena, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zaire and Zimbabwe; Chad, Djibouti and Somalia (excluding Arabic language rights); and Mauritius, Mayotte, Madagascar and Reunion (excluding French language rights).

Source: English Premier League

As a service to our readers, World Football INSIDER provides verbatim texts of selected press releases issued by football-related organizations, businesses and sponsors.

Your complete source of news about the global football business is


Get Free WFI news bulletins Click Here

(Copyright 1992 - , all rights reserved. The information in this report may not be published, excerpted, or otherwise distributed in print or broadcast without the express prior consent of World Football Insider and Around the Rings, Inc.)

 WFI Spotlight